The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Gold!

Busy, busy day. For some reason I decided that I needed to make GF 'bonfire night parkin' in my dressing gown, before getting dressed. I also needed to mix up a batch of GF flour first, and use up a loaf of little odds and ends, as well as making a few substitutions.

My first customer at my street stall, a friend who had been promised a cup of coffee in the street, was due at 11, so I had to set up the stall by then, as well as getting dressed.

By the time she arrived, the parkin was wafting delicious aromas up the path, the stall was partially set up, and I was looking respectable. Friend stick around, bought a pack of cards, left, then another person came along, inspired by my post on the What's App group. I gave her some parkin, too. Things continued in this way throughout the (not cold) day: some friends, some strangers, people who happened to be walking past and bought some Christmas cards. By 3.30 I was packing up, when a woman I'd given a brochure to yesterday turned up, so I brought all my Christmas cards back out again!

In the end I made more than I'd take on a regular Friday at the Shambles indoor market, and I hadn't had to pay any rent. I sold ten packs of Christmas cards, an advent calendar, and some other non-Christmas cards.

I rushed down to the Post Office, in case it was closing at 4 (it wasn't) and snapped this golden light and tremendous tree outside our MP's office. (She is mostly invisible, a career politician with no interest in the town).
Did some more shopping, and came home to start packing up Christmas cards for the to take to the pub. But io the way home I bumped into a friend who 'needed' some parkin for her husband. I gave her some, but I didn't let her into my house. We are strict about that, and I wear a mask in the street, mostly, though the rest of this lockdown 2.0 is frankly surreal because we are all still working.

Took the Christmas cards to the pub/corner shop, 30 packs on a little stand, and bought one of their freshly- made- by -local-chefs fish pies for supper. Today's been more hectic than a typical working Friday, but without the early start.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.