Life In Wales

By KarenC

Leonardslee Wallabies

Lockdown 2, Day 2

I'd originally planned to go to Leonardslee Gardens today with Louise, but obviously with the new lockdown rules I can't take anyone in the car and Louise doesn't drive, but she was very understanding and was happy for me to go anyway.  It's only a 30 minute drive, and as we're allowed to drive to parks and gardens, I decided to go anyway and pre-booked my ticket.

It's the first time I've ever been, and have seen some wonderful images of the autumn colours at the lakes, but I've left it a bit late for the best of the colour.  It was still beautiful though and very peaceful, and there's so much to see - various different gardens, including a rock garden, a vineyard, deer park, 7 lakes and free roaming wallabies as well as Leonardslee House which is a Michelin Star restaurant.  Obviously the restaurant was closed, but it has a terrace with amazing views and it was possible to sit there to have a drink, so I sat  for a while in the sun, it was wonderful!

The wallabies were introduced in 1889 by naturalist Sir Edmond Loder and are believed to be Bennett's Wallabies from Tasmania.  Whilst they roam free around the estate, there's a large maternity enclosure for breeding pairs  which is where I saw these. I was surprised to see so many white ones, they're rather cute!

I walked about 5 miles in total, and although I went into the deer park, I didn't see any deer, but it's such a vast area and somewhere to explore next time.  I took sandwiches with me and sat by the lake to eat my lunch, it really was very peaceful and not too busy, somewhere I'll definitely go back to.  Surprisingly I bumped into Barbara who I met when we first moved here, but we've not seen each other in a long time.  She was with her husband, also called Alan, and we chatted for a while.  Then last night she messaged me and we've arranged to meet up for a walk, it'll be nice to catch up properly with her.

When I got home I made a chilli for dinner, and as it was Friday date night, we spent the evening in the Palace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.