Halnaker

I've seen so many photos of this tunnel of trees in Halnaker online, where the trees are orange in colour as well as the path with the fallen leaves, and have always wanted to go and see it.  Today I'd arranged to meet Tannie for lunch in Angmering, which is only 20 minutes away from Halnaker, and as it was a lovely sunny day, I set off early and went there first.  To my surprise, as well as the few other photographers that were there, the trees are still very green and there weren't many leaves on the ground - It was still very beautiful though.

I walked through the tunnel and carried on through the fields to Halnaker Windmill.  The views were wonderful and all I could hear was the sound of the Skylarks - it was so peaceful.  On my way back through the tunnel I stopped to take some photos and luckily this guy happened to be walking towards me.  He asked me if I'd taken any good shots and I replied that the ones I'd got of him weren't bad, so he asked to have a look and joked about model rights lol!  Anyway, he said he was joking and didn't mind.

I then went to meet Tannie at a garden centre near where she lives and we had lunch in the cafe where we sat for a couple of hours just chatting.  Tannie's 36 weeks pregnant and has only just finished work, but was telling me that the baby is breech and only tiny so she may to have a c-section and is due to have another scan next week.  Tannie's tiny herself, so it's not surprising her baby is, but they've told her the baby's healthy so there's nothing to worry about there.

The garden centre was like a winter wonderland all decked out for Christmas, it was nicely done but it still seems a bit early to be thinking of the C word!

In other news, on Monday night I got a message on Instagram from the daughter of one of the guys from the London to Brighton Car Run that I blipped on Sunday.  She'd seen my images on Instagram and she asked if I'd be able to send them a copy as her dad would love to have it enlarged - of course I was more than happy to, and again the powers of social media amaze me.  I wonder if the guy from the Halnaker tunnel will find his picture?

Oh and my tray of bird seed is really attracting the birds, yesterday the robin was on it, and today I saw little Jenny Wren - I just need to keep my camera handy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.