Reflections in Newhaven Harbour

As the world expresses an enormous *PHEW*, I share my pleasure at the outcome of the presidential election. For once joy-scrolling replaces doom-scrolling on Twitter :-)

My day started with a bike ride with Mr hazelh to Newhaven to capture a blip, followed by a visit to Forest Craft to order my 5 x 7 apex shed (coming in February), and then tea/coffee and a shared cookie on the Cramond foreshore. Completely unexpectedly we bumped into one of my former students/colleagues/coauthors when we were just settling down on a bench on the esplanade to eat our snack. I don't think I have seen Lorraine since 2013, and certainly not since she has had two children. It was really lovely to see her again and to admire the latest addition to the family, just 3 weeks old.

Back home again, and after lunch, I beat Mr hazelh at Carcassonne, yardened, prepped all the ingredients to make our Christmas cake tomorrow, and brewed a batch of red soup. This evening we will watch a BBC4 programme on punk and new wave presented by Annie Nightingale.

Oh, and I had a marvellous sleep last night, albeit on my own from the outset in the study. The big question now is whether I risk my own bed tonight, or just go straight to the sofabed?

Exercise today: 14 mile bike ride.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.