Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Remember Copyright Laws!

I was so caught up in new hope for our democracy that I posted a photo of our President-Elect (!!!) from my TV screen on this date.  I actually looked at our copyright law and believed that it was okay to use it under the "Fair Use" clause.  I saw this morning that the photo had been removed.  I immediately sent an apology to Blip Central because I realized that it was viewed as a copyright infringement.  They were so kind and replied right away, reminding me that Blipfoto is an international site and copyright laws differ between countries.  They offered to release the date so I could replace the entry and I thought it would be a good time to remind everyone that we shouldn't do this!

Then I had a dilemma because, having been glued to the TV all day, I hadn't taken any other photos.  My replacement blip is one of my photos, swirled beyond recognition.  It was a slippery slope, so I'm hoping this is okay.  I would have just let it go but I really wanted to post this message to my fellow blippers.

Many thanks to Blip Central for their excellent moderation of our site and all the other work that they do behind the scenes!!  I am very grateful to all of them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.