Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sights from my Bike Ride

This is Sunday's blip, backblipped on Monday.

It got up to 80 degrees (26.7 C) today.  I didn't hear, but we must have broken a temperature record for the day.  I love snow but I'm really enjoying this extra long, warm fall.  The colors are fading but it's still beautiful.  I rode 27 miles and shed my jacket for a sleeveless tee shirt after the first mile. :-)

Mostly scenery and wildlife today - except for the weird middle row.  These "decorations" were in the front yard of a house on a fairly deserted road.  I slowed down because I couldn't tell what I was seeing and got closer to take a look.  It was really kind of disturbing.  It looked like something Stephen King would write about.  It's hard to see but the dolls are hung by nooses from the railing and impaled on or stuck in the farm equipment.  I snapped a few quick shots and took off down the road!

I was surprised to see cows eating leftover pumpkins.  There were hundreds in the pasture.  They were ignoring the hay and eating pumpkins so they must be a treat.  I thought the horse in the bottom row was so pretty, so s/he had to be included.  The find of the day was the butterfly.  I've never seen a butterfly in November! 

I am grateful for my Ebike with pedal assist.  I love it in the mountains but also on the plains (where I rode today) because I had to fight a strong headwind for about 8 miles on the way home.  I don't think I could have made it without the extra push.  

I am going to attempt to catch up with everyone now.  I started the other night but didn't finish.  I set aside this afternoon to do this instead of waiting until after dinner so maybe I'll finish this time. :-) xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.