Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Silly Memories

Loveland was our favorite place to ski back in the day.  We were lucky enough to be able to go every Thursday for several years.  Since it's one the highest ski mountains in the state, they were able to open early and close late.  In the late spring there was the Sunsplash challenge.  At the bottom of a steep run, they dug a rectangular hole about 10 feet long and 12 inches deep.  It was filled with snow which froze over at night but melted into a slushy pond during the day.  The object was to gain enough speed skiing down to be able to "water ski" across it.  It was warm enough by May to wear shorts and some people wore bathing suits or costumes.  Well, the air might have been warm but the water was frigid, so it was very important to make it across.  I spent a few seasons watching the silly antics and seeing some hilarious failures.  Then one day (apparently in 1992 - the button was my entry badge) after planning my strategy, I decided to go for it.  I was a fast skier so the speed part was easy and just before I hit the water I leaned back and got down, almost sitting on my bindings....and I made it!  I didn't stay dry but the adrenalin rush kept me warm.  After that, I decided to quit while I was ahead and I went back to being a spectator.  When I found the button in a drawer, the memory came flooding back. :-)  So, a silly button for a silly event and silly me for even trying it!  Remembering Admirer today on Silly Saturday.  Thanks to KangaZu for hosting!

I am grateful to my niece, Liz, for giving PD a wonderful haircut and perming my hair today.  She works full time and is always willing to give up a good portion of her Saturday to do this for us.  Today I gave her my perfectly good Fitbit that I recently replaced because I have to have all the new electronic gadgets.  She was excited to get it and that made me happy. :-)

Edit:  I understand if this was TLDR (too long, didn't read).  ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.