Mae

In a continuation of yesterday's story, I'd told my daughter I'd be there to pick up Mae today at 9:40, and I was there at 9:40. I knocked on the door but all was quiet. I knocked again, a little louder, but there wasn't a sound, so I figured they were all still sleeping. I thought I'd just go back home and she'd call me when they were up, so got in the car and started to pull out when I looked at the window and there was Mae, all dressed. So I parked and went back to the door. Apparently Mae had gotten up by herself, got dressed, packed a couple of her dolls and some rocks she'd picked up (so we could paint them) & was just waiting in her room for me, as her parents and sister were still asleep. She'd heard the second knock and come to the door & asked who was there, but I'd already walked out. When she saw me starting to leave she panicked and ran for her mom to get up and call me to tell me not to leave without her. So I took my relieved little buddy with me to our house for breakfast, after which I told her we were going to "The Magical Forest". (Seminary Woods, as she's never been walking there). She was beside herself with excitement & asked me why it was Magical. I told her it was because God made it so beautiful that everywhere you looked there was something special. We spent 2 wonderful hours there, exploring every inch. She ran, jumped, walked on fallen trees, climbed the hill, threw leaves, tripped on tree roots and fell at least 3 times, & generally had a wonderful time. I also realized that my granddaughter has become a 
"Pose-a-holic"!  I don't even have to ask anymore. All I heard was "Grandma, take a picture of me on the tree. Grandma take a picture of me on the bridge"....etc.  I put a collage in the extras, and if you care to look, you'll have to note that in the top photo where she's sitting on the rocks, she's happily filthy dirty and she's crossed her eyes. After that we painted rocks, we colored tons of pictures in the coloring books, we had lunch, and I took her home about 3:30, much to her disgust, as she said she wasn't ready to go home, but Grandma was tired out. :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.