A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Bald Eagle

I came within a split second of getting a “Wow” picture of this magnificent bird looking out over the Kennebec River. I swore all the way back to the car, muffled by mask, of course. I know, you’re all thinking “of course you did” just like those tall tales fishermen always tell of the big one that got away • But, no, really, Mrs. P aka Nuke Skywatcher, spotted him perched high in a tree along the edge of the river, camouflaged by limbs and leftover leaves. I took several shots from a distance, and continued shooting as I got closer. Still unsatisfied, I took a narrow path that extends behind the group of trees he was in. As I moved closer I continued to take more shots, including my blip. I believe he heard me because he turned his head. Then, when I positioned myself behind “the” tree he turned around to look at me. By the time my brain communicated to my finger to press the shutter I missed the winning face shot and, instead, got the blurred tail consolation prize • I watched as mighty wings carried him out over the water before he disappeared. What a glorious sight! • As our country’s national bird and following the recent presidential election, I’m reminded of a line in the John Denver song released in 1971, The Eagle and The Hawk: “...and all that we can be and not what we are.” That bald eagle is America’s symbol of hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.