Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Cuteness

When it comes to the award for Cutest Backyard Bird, I have to give the nod to the Tufted Titmouse.  With their blueish-gray feathers, their perky little crests and their inquisitive natures they are just hard to beat.  And, lucky me, this is a species that I can reliably count on seeing on just about any day of the year at our house.  Currently (and is often the case in the colder months) there are at least a half-dozen hanging around.  A close relative of chickadees/tits, they are sometimes challenging to photograph just because they are in perpetual motion.  But every so often, you get a clean shot.  

I met up with three of my birder friends today and we did a couple of miles on a favorite trail not too far from here.  We "only" recorded 30 species but it was such a good time that none of minded the lack of bird diversity at all.  We saw very few people and enjoyed temperatures that were in the low 70's.  There was little discussion of politics which was a relief.  It was a nice wrap to the socially distant visits I had with friends this weekend.  I have to say that I am feeling mentally better right now than I've felt in weeks.

When I got home. I noticed a pine siskin that was acting sickly on the patio.  After several unsuccessful attempts, I was able to capture it in my hand and carefully put it into my "rescue box" (a shoe box lined with paper towels.  I secured the top, set it on the porch, and picked up my phone to call my bird rehabber friend.  Just as I was about to hit the call button, I saw the damned siskin sitting on the steps NEXT to the box!  Turns out there was a vent-hole on the side, less than an inch in diameter, and the little bird just wedged itself out.  After which it was onto me and there was no luck catching it again.  Assuming it's still around tomorrow, I am determined to get it.  It has what appears to be early stages of the avian conjunctivitis that is common (and fatal if untreated) in finches.  I talked to Giselle (avian rehabber) and she told me what to do if I catch it.  She'll be able to treat it at eventually release it if I can get it to her since the disease is only moderately visible in one eye and doesn't seem to be hampering the bird's ability to eat, drink or fly.  Keep you fingers crossed - I would feel very good if I could rescue this tiny little creature.  

Stay safe, be kind, find things to be grateful for.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.