Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Oh my!

What a surprise to find a very sluggish honey bee on the patio this afternoon.  It was actually bumbling around on the patio looking quite forlorn, so I scooped it onto a leaf and took it to the last tiny bit of phlox that is still blooming in my garden.  Not sure how much nectar it got, but at least it was something.  And while it was sipping, another very tiny bee of some sort did a quick photo-bomb (see far upper left).  The lovely orange background is thanks to our cherry tree which is in its final blaze of fall color now.

I am sorry to report that the sickly siskin was nowhere to be found today, so I've spent some time kicking myself for not trying harder to recapture it yesterday.  There were three other siskins here, but all looked bright eyed and very healthy.  

I took the kayak out for one more paddle today - it was sunny, breezy and about 70 F so it was pleasant on the water.  The wind made me have to work harder but that was okay as it did me good to burn off some energy.  The temperatures are going to drop tomorrow so I don't know when I'll get out on the water again.  I may be a sissy, but getting splashed with cold water when the temps are below 50 doesn't really appeal much.  

Not surprisingly, He is acting like a big baby and refusing to cooperate with President Elect Biden's transition team.  Meanwhile, our Supreme Court is hearing the case on our Affordable Care Act (Obamacare) today which Trump badly wants to have gutted.  At this early point, though, it looks like the Court is going to rule to keep it, minus one small portion that won't really affect anyone.  Can you even imagine canceling a plan that more than 20 million Americans rely on for health insurance?  In the middle of an ever-worsening pandemic?  It's unthinkable, in my humble opinion.

Many thanks to JDO for hosting TinyTuesday this month!
Be safe, people.  Now isn't the time to let down your guard, especially in the colder parts of the country/world.  And, as always, be kind.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.