Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Surprise!

I met up with three birder friends today for a nice walk along a wetlands area.  We saw a nice assortment of birds but the biggest surprise of the day was this very large Green Frog sitting right in the middle of the trail.  It was rather chilly out so he wasn't moving as fast as usual although he did finally hop out of the trail when we were almost upon him.  I was able to drop to the ground and get a couple of eye-level shots when we first spotted him.  Slight crop.

We also found a severely injured Toad, likely a Fowler's Toad which is somewhat rare in our area.  My friend who is a bird rehabilitator scooped it up and carried about a half mile back to her car where she keeps first aid supplies for bird rescues.  She didn't feel like the prognosis was very good, but she patched him up as best as possible and took him with her.  I am so lucky to know people who have such kindness and compassion for all living things.  

Jax has been keeping me busy since I got home from walking, hence my late-hour blip.  He had two little excitement-pees, one precipitated when he tried to start a game with the cats.  They were not at all amused and hissed loudly, which scared him.  Then when I walked him after dinner, he pooped right on the retaining wall of my small pollinator garden - Hubs will get to deal with that tomorrow.  Ah. puppy-hood....He has also removed the ears and tail from his little stuffed toy dog.  We are giving the toy dog a week at best.  

Dark with nuts today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.