Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Nutty

So many nuthatches this year!  No complaints from me because I enjoy watching them.  This one, a female, was busy doing what she's named for - jamming a seed or nut into a small space and then pounding it with her beak to "hatch" out the seed.  It's pretty ingenious when you think about it because they aren't physically constructed in a way that would allow them to comfortably hold the seed between their feet while they pound it open.  I also got a nice shot of a male doing the same thing, in the same spot - but I just like this shot better.

We are having another beautiful day with temps currently at 65F.  I spent several hours outside just enjoying the feel of the sun on my face.  Jax is at day care when I'm sure he is having a grand time.  He is always so excited when we get there, eager to go play - and the people who work there seem to genuinely love him.  

Having a whole day "off" from Jax-duties, I took myself out for a long needed trip to the hair salon where I got about 4 inches taken off.  Now my hair just brushes my shoulders which I think looks better on me.  Unfortunately, I am "shedding" a lot of hair right now which I believe is a side effect of the hormone suppressants I am taking to prevent a recurrence of breast cancer.  This drug is also causing an increasing amount of joint pain so when I see my oncologist next week, I will see what my other options are.  There is only one more drug in this "family" of drugs that I haven't tried although it tends to cause exactly the same side effects as the two I've already been on, so ... we'll see.  I certainly don't want to increase my risk of getting cancer again, but I also want to maintain a certain quality of life and not having full use of my hands is a no-go for me. Add to that the vanity issue of thinning hair...

Still watching the election returns - bit of a nail-biter in terms of which party will take the majority in the Senate and it may all get down to Georgia's special election in December.  In the House, a Republican majority seems all but a forgone conclusion which probably means that they will attempt to impeach Biden.  Another waste of time and tax payer's $$.  I wish both parties would spend more time trying to come up with solutions to real-world problems instead of lobbing accusations at each other.  

On that note, I believe it is time for a piece of dark with sea salt and almonds.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.