Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Nutritious!

Actually, a Nutria eating grass which is nutrition, so...  

Mom and Dad and I went to Fernhill Wetlands today where we enjoyed a really enjoyable, although chilly, walk.  We saw 28 species of birds including thousands of Crackling Geese who winter in Oregon and California after breeding in the arctic tundra.  

As we were walking along the wetlands, we spotted a nutria next to the trail eating grass.  I grabbed a couple of record shots, thinking it would scuttle into the vegetation as we approached.  Nope.  This little guy stayed right where he was.  This was taken full frame and not cropped (300 mm).  After I shot this, I used my iPhone to record some video.  The nutria was completely disinterested in us.  Nutria are native to South America and were introduced to the US where they quickly became invasive.  They can be fairly destructive so they aren't well liked although I find them charming in their grizzly way.  They are rodents, related to our native muskrats (and beaver too, I think).  

After our walk, we found a terrific little diner where we had lunch then home to warm up (and a nap for me).  I think rain is in the forecast tomorrow, so probably no walks.  I'm really enjoying the time with my parents.  

Dark with raspberries again today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.