Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Derelict

I haven’t tagged anything for the weekly DerelictSunday challenge (thanks, Marlieske, for keeping it going) in ages. So when I happened across this wonderful old barn this morning, I figured I had my Blip. I don’t know any of the history of this fine old building other than that it has been long abandoned and sits on State parkland. I also have a hunch it won’t be the last time you see it.

At the last minute, one of my birder friends and I decided to go out for a quick hike before the rains moved in. It was really warm with a heavy overcast and occasional light drizzle but we had a great time never the less. We started the walk near a big lake (where I recently kayaked) where we ran into another birder who spotted some nice waterfowl for us in his scope (which he kindly let us peer through). From there, we headed up a trail that was a nice combo of grassland and woods where we saw a decent selection of sparrows, woodpeckers and other miscellaneous birds. I think we tallied just under 35 species, not a bad morning.

Back home just in time for the rain to start. And since I hadn’t slept well last night, I decided on a nap.

Covid cases in the country and in both my state and county are continuing to rise. Deaths in the United States are hovering just under 1000 a day, an unspeakable number that many in our government (and our nation) seem unconcerned about. Just about everyone I know is forgoing family gatherings this Thanksgiving for fear of spreading the virus. And as I look around the world, this seems to be the case just about everywhere.

So please, please take extra care to stay safe!

Xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.