Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Golden light

Every day I take my camera with me to the woods when I walk Xena as soon the leaves will start dropping off and that will be it, the colour will be over for another year. This morning there was lovely light and it looked good on the delicate birch leaves, as seen here.

Last night we had another competition at our camera club, I suppose on zoom meetings it is easier to have competitions than most other type of meetings. We are allowed to enter two images and my one image was held back and did very well so I am pleased about that - it was an old one from my first trip to the Lake District.

After the competition, those members still on zoom were discussing the vaccine and the pandemic. A few of the members are doctors in the NHS, and apparently the virus has already mutated to be much weaker than what it was in March/April. Our nearest hospital currently has 5 Covid cases in ICU compared to 327 cases at the peak earlier this year. The doctors also know so much more about how to treat patients with the disease, which is all very promising. What is going to be problem is the logistics of distributing a vaccine that has to be kept at -80C, no courier company has the cold storage facilities for that. Can I also point out that yesterday when I said I would be prepared to pay for the vaccine if I had to, I did not mean at the cost of bumping someone else off the list. I am sure the vaccine will only be allowed to be distributed through someone like Boots for private payment once all the over 65's and vulnerable have been treated. The same way I pay for my annual flu jab now as the NHS does not provide me with one, and it does not mean that someone vulnerable is missing out on their flu jab because I am prepared to pay for mine. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.