Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

another fisherman...

I had a really busy day preparing powerpoint presentations for our speakers over the next few days!  I also had to do a lot of typing and printing.  So by the time sundown was coming I was exhausted - just wandered down to the edge of the river and the same fisherman I took the photo of a few days ago was just heading off to the fishing camp on the other side.  The fishermen stay in a camp all week and just go home on Sunday or Monday!  I was there today when he brought in the catch and he got K30 for the lot of fish (it was quite a lot too), the equivalent of $1.50.  
I also did some printing in a shop today and the guy was telling me it costs K500 per month to rent the shop.  My business  today was K250 but buying the paper and ink and the electricity he used, there must not be a lot of profit!  Such a lovely young 22 year old who is trying his best to make a living!  I didn't have anything with me to take a photo of him today but I hope to get one before I leave Lundazi!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.