Northern Star

By Lifferz

Home grown

Sunday’s dinner required some apple sauce. MrH thought it was too watery but by the time it had been left to cook it wasn’t very watery at all.

Lovely sweet red apples in the garden this year turned my attempts rather pink. Didn’t make very much as it reduced very quickly in the pan. I didn’t put much sugar in. I’m not sure how long this will last as we didn’t have the right things to preserve it well other than a bit of lemon juice so the plan is to eat it soon (should not be an issue!)

I think next year I’d like to get into this preserving autumnal goodness a bit more.

When I was living in halls of residence at Bristol Uni I lived with a Morrocan-Parisian girl who was studying for a masters degree in Mechanical Engineering. She used to pronounce apple sauce ‘apple sowse’ which I much prefer to the usual pronunciation. Making this treat made me smile and reminded me of her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.