Dazzle Street

That camouflage they painted on warships so that the enemy couldn't pick them out in the waves - dazzle ships they were called. This London Mural Festival art work in Leyton reminded me a bit of that when I sought it out at lunchtime. Unless you look carefully you wouldn't be able to see the people walking along in front of it. Well almost.

I was a bit underwhelmed when I got there and looked at it but it grew on me while I was waiting for someone to walk past. I particularly like the steps going up through the archway. And there is a gate in the garden wall just behind them that you wouldn't notice. 

Talking about warships, I was very moved by the Armistice service in Westminster Abbey this morning commemorating the centenary of the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. It was beautifully arranged with magnificent singing and readings. I was particularly stirred by Simon Armitage's poem. I think it will become a Remembrance Day classic.

I needed to get out for some fresh air after that powerful occasion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.