Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Serenity

A message from herself downstairs yesterday to inform me that she has tested positive for Covid and to ask that if she were to need something, like milk perhaps, would I mind grabbing some for her.
Well Obvs!
But then the dilemma; should I continue to go in to work or should I try to work from home?
My laptop had been in the office all this week awaiting attention from an IT person, but was still languishing, so working from home would be hell on a stick – getting colleagues to email me every file I need so that I could work on a clone and then email it back once finished. Nightmare!
Perhaps I could just take all my remaining annual leave and stay at home without attempting to work. That would be a huge sacrifice if there is a chance of hooking up with family members in December.
But Joy! The laptop sprang to life, so I switched it off and on again gazillions of times just to check it wasn't a fluke, I actually used it to perform my job whilst sitting in the office with my back turned against the four-screen cockpit that is my real desk, and all was well.
So the agreed plan is that I continue to travel in to the office and work from there, and that I run errands for herself downstairs as required. But in the unhappy event that she actually pops her head out of the door while I'm putting her shopping on her doorstep and she coughs or spits at me, then I'm confined to barracks.
So I've brought the laptop home and guess what? It cannot see the office servers.

Aside; Question: Has anyone begun making Quarantine / Self-Isolation Advent calendars (with appropriate numbers of openable doors/windows) yet? High time they did! Bagsy the Intellectual Property rights!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.