The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Three on the Balcony

Seeing in the news reports that Hurricane Eta was changing course and heading for Tampa Bay, I headed out for the 2 1/2 hour drive across to help Ron and Betty (the senior members of our bubble) evacuate their mobile home and join us at the east coast timeshare where we're staying for our Beach Bubble Getaway. It turned into a 4 hour drive through a driving pouring rain. The GPS died so for the last two hours it was like flying with no instruments (no phone signal either) in close to zero visability.

One I got home I gathered them up, got a few extra things just in case, and managed to get across the causeway before it was closed down by the storm surge (not by much, water was coming over the barriers).

3 1/2 hours later we were safe, Connie had pizza waiting, and it was time to collapse. If I was a drinking man, a bourbon would have been in order. News reports said 10 inches of rain had fallen during that time.

This morning it was breakfast on the balcony.

Right now (still on the balcony) they're enjoying the beach view and surf sounds, safe and sound. Once I post this I, however, intend to take a nap ... and, as I've been known to observe, the adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.