Oddie's Lane and the Roman road

As a solitary runner, the routes I take are generally circular, whether they are from home or the car. Sometimes the Minx will kindly drop me off somewhere so that I can run home but today she surpassed her habitual kindness by dropping me off and then collecting me at the end of a run.

The route in question is one that I've been longing to do for years, and it runs down the middle of the valley that stretches north from Ingleton up to Ribblehead. The usual route between these locations is the B6255, which runs up the east side of the valley. What's not very clear from there is the single track road that runs along the valley bottom from Chapel-le-Dale down to Ingleton.

I drive along it occasionally and I've always thought it would make a wonderful run, and so it turned out to be. I was also intrigued to see on the map that it's marked as 'Roman road' so I need to do a little research about that, too.

****
-10.7 kgs
Reading: 'The Vanishing Half' by Brit Bennett

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.