Seed, seed, seed

There are lots more to process, a job I would have completed by now if I did'nt keep stopping to take pics. The trouble is I'm fascinated by their packaging :-), then of course I have to separate them, sieving when required. (Yesterdays blip). I did'nt know my Echium vulgare from my Phacelia so did a quick search before I continued this morning.The Phacelia was sown as a green manure, then left rather than worked in in the Spring. Both look very similar in their dried state, both plants attract wildlife, perfect for pollinating & were harvested from a fellow allotment holders plot. I purchased a pack of 300 self sealing bags (9x7cm) which I could probably fill. Nasturtium seeds are quite chunky , & definitely easier to handle. I'll probably give them all away when I have my next charity plant sale in the Spring. Most are easy to grow varieties. A few seeds have gone awol, I find them with my socked feet.  I reckon I'd have a "pop up" flower border if I watered the bedroom carpet. Wherever they grow hopefully they will give lots of pleasure, & provide plenty of interest & grub to any passing wildlife.

I grabbed a few bits from the Coop, nipped across to the Community fridge, picked up an out of date loaf to make breadcrumbs. Stale bread makes better crumb, so I blitz a loaf then freeze. Ideal for adding to fruit topping, homemade stuffing, or savoury crust.
I dropped off the paper, shot up to the allotment, I needed
 to lift a rather prickly gooseberry bush offered to me earlier in the year when i harvested the gorgeous fruits. I don't understand why you'd plant a fruit bush then 2 years later decide yo don't want it. This years crop would convinced me to keep it. It was loaded. I hope only hope it likes it's new home on my patch.  I only managed to lift it before I shot over to see Jorgiesmum for 11am. I took cakes.  We discussed a shared problem with pesky little mice, mine is solved, not sure about J's. Ha! Ha! I've been very generously given a camera to play around with, to see how I get on with it. Exciting! Whoop whoop! I stopped by the allotment on the way home, moved a couple of fruit bushes around to accommodate the very bushy, very prickly gooseberry bush. I wanted to get it in the ground before the rain forecast for the forthcoming days. Tick!  Next stop the cemetery, I wanted to pick up the quince fallen in the memorial garden.
Back home, lunch, then find & purchase a charger, plus new battery on line.. Tick!
Then I had a little play with "the" camera, not too long as it does'nt have much charge.
Back upstairs to the seed store.

Homemade faggots tonight .. yum .. yum ... yum! I inspired a friend to have a go at making her own a couple of weeks back. She's made them and given them the thumbs up ... I'm thinking it could be time to make pork pies. I used to make them regularly when we were in Thailand. Hot water crust pastry in a tropical climate , less challenging than shortcrust that is for sure. :-)

Thanks to BikerBear/Anni for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.