Kipsie

By Kipsie

Roast pumpkin, pumpkin pie, pumpkin soup

pumpkin puree, and last but not least roasted pumpkin seeds, which I'm preparing in my blip. I've no idea what my homegrown pumpkin/squash Jack-O- Lantern weighs but there is lots of it, plus lots of seeds that I'm cleaning before roasting while I've got the oven on for dinner tonight.
We had  oven baked veggies with Linda McCartney's Amazingly Indulgent vegetarian red onion & rosemary sausages, cauliflower cheese & savoy. Someone had recommended  the sausages on a FB food page that I'm a member of  so when I saw them on offer in the Coop recently I decided to give them a go. They were a great success, well I enjoyed them. I did'nt tell hubby they were vegetarian though. Josie made a toad in the hole with Heck beetroot sausages while we were away. I was'nt so keen on them though, the texture was a bit grainy. The seeds roasted nicely. After cleaning all the fleshy bits off, I dried them before placing them in a single layer in a roasting tin, giving  them a squirt of EVOO, plus a shake of Turkish spice mix that I bought in the market earlier in the year when on holiday in Marmaris.

I've been out in the garden again this morning. Adding more plants to the borders, jiggling a few around, & popping in some bulbs. Cleaning up more dead leaves, ready to take to the allotment. The dead holly leaves can give you a nasty stab if you are unaware .. Little critters!! I'd just finished & was about to load up the car when it began to rain heavily. I quickly grabbed the sacks of litter & plonked it in the greenhouse to keep it dry.
Lunchtime ... Aldi Sourdough crumpet & coddled egg .. Yummy!

The sky turned black, the heavens opened, there was'nt much point getting wet looking for a w-i-d-e Wednesday image this afternoon, which was a shame as there is so much colour around, not that I had any where in mind of course to go for said blipping so it's the pumpkin seeds in a colander, SURROUNDED by water in the bowl. Done!

I've got so much fresh pumpkin left, plus 2 more stored in the shed,  I think I'm going to make puree & freeze it for later meals. I've never made pumpkin pie. I bet that's nice with cream.
Note to self ...  Grow smaller varieties next year.

Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting Wide Wednesday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.