Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Possibly My Favourite Graveyard?

To town today, for various errands. Living in the Scottish Borders has many nice things about it, one of which is the absence of large towns and the abundance of small ones. (Apologies to Galashiels, which is quite large .... but quite a long way from here and not as pretty as the others, to my eyes anyway).

They each have a variety of independent shops, and we can get just about anything we need - just not all in the same town.  So today we headed for Kelso, which has a large garden centre, a whole-foods shop and  - how to put this politely - some high-class charity shops. And lots of other interesting emporia which we didn't need to visit today.

We got unbleached white flour for TM's latest sourdough experiment, I bought some amaryllis bulbs, and found a good home for a couple of pairs of shoes for which I see no future use. I seldom wear 3 inch heels these days.

As a bonus, I got a couple of lightweight and easily wrapped Christmas presents in a new-to-me bookshop. Then I had a wander round the Abbey precincts in search of a blip. 

The old burial ground is open on all sides and crossed by footpaths. It's a handy short cut through the town centre, well-used and well-maintained. I think it's lovely to visit the dead of centuries past (it's no longer used for burials) and read about their lives.  There are some very interesting stones, and some at interesting angles. 

There was just enough light left when we got home for me to plant the last of the tulip bulbs. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.