Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Stepping Stones

The Taylor River, where I walk our dogs everyday, is feeling the dry. There are long stretches of the shingle river bed which are bone dry. At least they are dry on the surface. Many folk do not realize that the river never absolutely drys out. The water merely disappears out of sight underground until some decent rain arrives to recharge the shingle and allow the water to flow on the surface again.
There are, however, a few precious spots along the upper Taylor which do not dry out. They are a haven for eels and trout and also provide food for a number of bird varieties.
This is one of my favourite spots, a set of stepping stones. I stood in the water today to capture this scene. The dogs then had a bit of a splash around and cooled off . I found a nice bed of fresh watercress nearby as well. I will harvest some tomorrow.
There was a blue heron a little way upstream, one of a regular pair. It took off with its slow, lazy looking flapping of wings, too late for me to photograph. Sigh... another time...another day....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.