Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Back in the mountains

But in North Carolina.

We left Mt. Vernon this morning at 6:30 Central time with a nine hour drive to get to my son's house in Creston.   We decided to try a new route given to us by the GPS and it was well worth trying.  It actually cut off an hour or so from our other route and there was very little traffic.   It was raining when we started out but we drove out of the rain and had partly sunny skies for most of the way.    

The photo is one of many that I took of trees standing on the top of the hills.   The direction we were traveling made for great silhouettes.  I was also surprised to see a little bit of fall color in Kentucky.    It has not been terribly cold here so the leaves were still hanging on.  

My son had a friend over who was of  Sicilian descent.   Tate wanted me to make a baked macaroni and cheese for him to taste as he had never had the kind that I make.    I guess he liked it as he ate two plates full!!

We will spend the night here and after breakfast in the morning we will make that last five hour ride to the house.     The weather at home is still fall like ( or maybe summer!) with the temperature tomorrow at 76F (24C).    I guess that cold Colorado weather did not follow me home!

Oh yes,  my  Gypsy dog was so happy to see us!!   She  jumped in the truck before  I got the door closed to make sure we don't leave her again!!   

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.