Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

From winter to blooming

I was really surprised when we got home today to see so many flowers still blooming in my yard.   I really thought the gazania where finished for the season as they had quit blooming before I left.  I sure was surprised at the blooms in my red rusty wagon!     There were some butterfly weed still trying (full of those little mites), a few blooms left on the mums and the periwinkle and dianthus had both rebloomed!   The begonias that I left outside have had a growth spurt and all four pots are blooming!     We did have some cold nights but no frost yet.  We also had much rain and warm days so maybe that is why the flowers are having one last gasp for beauty!

I also got a lemon from my lemon tree!   There are still two more on the tree so I may bring it inside if the weather cools off to see if they will turn yellow in the house.  

When we got home it was so warm...in the high 70s and humid!  What a big difference from the last week in Colorado with frigid winter air and layers of clothes!    I opened up the windows and doors to let the breeze blow through and get the musty closed up smell out of the house.     I had to change my jeans for shorts as it got really warm unloading the truck and doing chores like laundry and putting everything where it belonged.   I even made a grocery store trip to get some fresh food.  

No cooking today because I had some frozen Chinese...sesame chicken and fried rice that just needed to be warmed up.   It will feel really weird to cook after 28 days of not having to shop for food, prepare it or cleaning up.   

The dog is so happy to be home.  She had been bringing me all her toys and dropping them at my feet.   We had a short walk along the road so she could make sure our space was safe!

Tomorrow will be a really lazy day!     A few more things to clean up and put up and hopefully a long walk with the dog.   

As Dorothy said " There's no place like home!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.