DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

Homeward bound

Lockdown 2.0 - Day 10

After a week of misery, today was a great day!
The doctors gave me some sleeping tablets, so I managed to get a decent nights sleep; the first in almost a week!

I had another session with the physio but this time I knew what they expected and I was all set to show them what I could do.
It was a different lady; she seemed surprised that I’d managed to walk as far as I did the previous day and asked how I felt about maybe trying to walk to the bathroom.
I knew that I had to show them that
*I could walk without help (with my frame)
*get in and out of bed by myself
*get on and off the loo by myself

The challenge was on and I was ready!
It was absolutely exhausting, but I did all of the above and found the frame easier to use once I got into the rhythm of motion.

My reward for this was a visit from the doctors to tell me they were really pleased and I could go home if I wanted.
Course I bloody wanted!!!!!!

Technically, I should have stayed until early next week as I should have seen the orthotics team for them to construct me a shoe. I said to the doctor that a shoe was the least of my worries; I can’t go anywhere so I’m more than happy to wait and see someone locally, than hang around the hospital for longer than necessary.

I waited from 1.20pm. And waited. Just when it looked like I might be having another night on the ward, my transport arrived at 9.30pm and I was whisked to the waiting arms of Mr A.

It feels sooooooooo good to be home :-)

DQ x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.