Woodland track

As I walked up through the woodland at the end of our street this afternoon, I thought a large dog was crossing the path in front of me, but it was in fact the small herd of deer I spotted earlier in the week.  I had just switched off my camera after taking this blip of the Beech tree, so no evidence to display, you will just have to take my word for it.  The stag turned back and I tracked him for a while at a distance, but he quickly and silently disappeared in the undergrowth.

After two days of windy weather, there are few leaves left in the woodland apart from the beech trees, which are holding on awhile.  When the sun is out, they seem almost aflame.  As it is the weekend and a bright afternoon, I expected to be doing a fair bit of social distancing, so I took several minor trails on my circuit of the Moor and managed to avoid folks.  There were some pretty big family bubbles out there!  My old Brown Owl would have been proud of my tracking skills, but there again probably not as I only went to Brownies for a couple of weeks.  I think it was the dancing around the toadstool which didn't appeal!

Tony has just gone for his run, sadly as a large black cloud has just obscured that lovely afternoon light.  I'm relaxing with a mint tea and Joni Mitchell singing 'A Case of You' on Johnnie Walker.  Strictly results show tonight and we thought Bill Bailey was fabulous on the show last night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.