The curse of Ottolenghi

This is his roast root veg toad in the hole. All went well till I got to the bit where he told me to put the sunflower oil in the roasting tin and put it in the oven at 200c. He made no mention of sunflower oil in the list of ingredients so I didn’t know how much to put in. I decided on enough to give a good coating of the bottom of the tin.

However even though I knew my oven needed to be at a lower heat than his, and even allowing for that, and giving it less time, it still got a bit burned on top. It certainly was filling and there’s enough for several days.

I didn’t go out for a walk today as every time I thought of it, the rain started. I got very engrossed in my Blurb book about our van travels in times of Covid. It is addictive once you start.

My daughter sent a hilarious tweet put out by the German Government. Basically it has an old boy talking about the tough time it was in the war against COVID in 2019 - when all you had to do was relax on your sofa. I believe someone else put one out about all the awful things that’s happened in the world in the last 100 years. That puts staying alert into perspective for all those who are champing at the bit to be sociable. People like me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.