A day in the life

By Shelling

Me and the cat

I like being on my own. Not alone, but able to have time for myself when I need to. Normally I'm on my own, sharing space only with the "house-cat" since the last month when it arrived. It's company in a way, putting demands on me to organise a space for it in my mind so that it gets the love, attention and food it needs to live its life.

My visitors, Keith & Janet left for the north (we say that, but really it's in the middle) of the country where they live their life surrounded by their house and garden and local friends. Having them in my home has been a real treat, the house has been alive in quite a different way from normal with familiar laughter, bickering, talks, watching films, walks, eating and drinking good things together and updating ourselves to what life looks at the moment for each of us. We've also met old mutual friends here and made new friends as well. We've had a really pleasant six days together. 

We'll keep in contact of course, they are among my oldest friends, but having them here, and not having them is a big contrast, especially this afternoon and evening when I will slowly be drifting back into my own habits again and return to some sort of normal. Right now, in front of the fire, I miss them and the life they brought to my home but we'll meet up again to continue the story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.