Beewriter

By Beewriter

Endure!

Stuart has wanted to join in an adventure with Pat and I for a while, today he came along to Gaddings Dam with us. Last time I climbed up it took me about forty five minutes, today it took me thirty...yay! In the last week we have climbed up to the Dam three times and up Rivington Pike twice. It’s been a good week as I was only working two days.

It was blowing a hooley again which made it difficult to stand up, never mind walk, but we made it to the beach in one piece. Stuart and I went in and were bashed by the water as it blew at us. There was no skinny dipping today as I decided to wrap up in my bikini. Stuart almost got his shoulders in but it was only seven degrees and he felt the pain in his arms. He didn’t realise this is normal in such cold water and laughed when he told me afterwards he was worried it was a heart attack. It was certainly a baptism of fire as it was his first wild swim and I’m glad to say he spoke about ‘the next time’. As we hiked down he had the buzz you get after such a swim.

There were a couple of other swimmers there and we all just did a few minutes. It was difficult to get dressed in the wind but laughing helped to keep you warm. As we left the beach area a couple arrived to swim, “Enjoy,” I yelled above the wind. They laughed at ‘enjoy’ and we decided the more appropriate saying would be, “Endure!”

We had tea and cake when we returned home. Then later in the afternoon Pat and I went for another walk through the woods to boost our steps. I didn’t quite match yesterday’s but I was just short of thirteen thousand so I’m pleased...knackered, but pleased.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.