Somewhere Over The Rainbow/The Impossible Dream

I had to negotiate quite a deep flood when I was taking MrQ to have an eye scan at the hospital this morning. Our lane gets its name from the fact that the brook to the south of us used to spill over the road. It's the first time I've seen it happen in the fifty years that I've lived here.

My daughter and I were meant to be driving the track at Bedford Autodrome yesterday. It wasn't the weather but the lockdown which put paid to that. Shame as she drives brilliantly in the wet.

Similar weather in Istanbul. Lewis Hamilton dared to dream the impossible dream when he was young and honing his skills in karts very near here at Rye House. He who dares wins. His hard work and self-belief has paid off. Adaptable isn't a buzzword but it's one of the secrets to his success and how he has achieved the magnificent seven. So touched and proud to see him on the podium with the National Anthem playing.

I could see the squall coming at Lodge Farm. Ollie dog and I crouched down in the lee of an oak tree. The wind roared and the rain was horizontal, so surprisingly we stayed dry. What fantastic storm light and a beautiful rainbow. "And the dreams that you dare to dream really do come true."    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.