Fallow deer on the move

That's because they'd seen me, and the dog. It's a dilemma, taking Pippa to Petworth. She has to come along for the walk. That's not negotiable. She's adamant about that. But when we're near the deer she has to be on the lead and that makes the photography difficult and stalking a non-starter.

To do this thing (photography) properly, it seems to me that preparation and organisation are important. I'd looked at the weather forecast last night and it looked good for a misty start and sun. But I was late to bed. That was poor prep 2. poor prep 1 was failing to put all my gear in the car ready.

I was up earlyish for me but not nearly early enough. The sun was already up so that was a shot missed. On the way it was so nice everywhere It was easy to get diverted and I did. Went down to the river and my welly sprung a serious leak, soggy foot.

When I got to Petworth it was past 10 am and the deer were nowhere in sight. I found them after a long trudge but then they scarpered. Most of the hinds will be in calf so I'm not surprised they don't welcome people and they must be fed up with photographers.

Anyway I got this and one or two other nice ones. I'm thinking of popping out again to see if I can see any barn owls* but - possibly in sympathy with the welly - the Jeep has sprung a leak (again). Coolant (again). And there's other stuff to do. Days need to be longer.

* I did see some, including a kill, but didn't get closer than this, fuzzy because I blew it up. Still, there was a lovely sunset as well with a couple of swans thrown in to go with the necking couple (next to the owl) snapped in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.