Blip of the Tip

I decided yesterday that this would be my Blip today, so first thing this morning I went out and took photos in case today was the day the council came and took it all away.*

we used to have a monthly (I think...) day when the council lorry would come and take away rubbish that was not suitable for collection by the regular refuse service. But then came austerity and the cuts meant that this was discontinued. 

It did not stop people dumping their rubbish though, and this seemed to increase during Lockdown 1. It is not good but many people around here can't afford to run their own transport for taking things to the tip, or pay to have it collected. Even though the official  collections were discontinued, the council do still send their truck round to pick up the junk once it gets too much.

On a good note, things are often removed by people who can restore or fix things up to sell or make use of them . I can see things in this heap that a person with the right skillset could probably do something with - the chair and the frames for example! There were more old toys the other day - I daresay many of those have been taken, fixed if needed and sanitised for re-use. Some of it is just pure rubbish of course!

*I wasn't wrong! When I left to go to Tesco it had all gone - collected by the council. Already there's an old cot mattress and a broken cupboard there again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.