Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Car trouble

The day started really well and Monday's are always good being G's shortest day. However, it started to unravel mid-morning, starting with going back to the sweet shop I was in yesterday. This time, we were buying sweets for ourselves. I won't go into detail but it's all based around the very male-dominated society we live in and ladies in a shop will always be last to receive service. :((

I then had a setback with YouTube not allowing general viewing for a video I've been working on for weeks. They are citing copyright problems although the album is available elsewhere. I shall investigate further when I have some time and energy.

We were heading out to meet up with our friend Susan only to find the car wouldn't start. Ugh! What more could go wrong today? I (reluctantly) walked along to a nearby store which supplies car parts and expertise for small repairs. The guy in the picture, Habib, first came to check there really was a problem, then went to fetch some tools.

He began by checking that the fuel supply was working properly. It was. He then proceeded to take off the engine cover and eventually got to the spark plugs. They were not in great shape but OK, so he then checked the battery. That was definitely OK.

The car eventually started so we made our visit. Habib said he would organise four new spark plugs which he will fit upon our return. So I went along to the shop to get the job finished. I wish I'd started by asking him if he had the plugs. Assuming he did, I informed him that as we had just driven 35 miles and the engine was hot so it might not be a good time to replace spark plugs.

Well, he then wanted to check the car as to why the engine was getting hot. Pardon??!! I just said I'd driven over thirty minutes. Engines do tend to get hot! For some reason, this information was incomprehensible to him. As he didn't have the plugs anyway, I suggested we leave things for today and try again tomorrow. I would love to get the job done somewhere else. I really struggle to cope with this kind of stupidity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.