Time is on my side

Hard to believe that it is mid-November. 

Today started with the shipping company bringing all my boxed belongings from Istanbul that were originally destined for Essex.  With the covid effect, and my decision to stay here for the foreseeable future,  it seemed sensible to have everything brought here. The communal storage depot now has a lot of big full boxes as I write this which will take ages to decant, sort, deal with... but that's ok cos time is on my side. 

Morning coffee followed, sitting with neighbours around the now empty pool. The sun was so warm that I exchanged jeans for shorts before my daily walk to the beach. In temperatures around 23ºC - even hotter on the sheltered beach, several folk, like me, were paddling - even swimming!  It's only the fourth day in a row that I've taken this walk but already there are benefits. Yesterday, and today, neighbours in nearby villas are saying hello and chatting as I walk by - I even got an invite for coffee.  With new and unwelcome lockdown rules, this daily walk may well become the highlight of what is promising to be a dreary existence.  Trying to focus on my location with gratitude, as the days roll by. Have I made the right decision to stay here?  Time will tell.

Be safe everyone. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.