Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Nuts!

Common and reliably seen every day in my yard, white-breasted nuthatches are still a bird I find somewhat challenging to photograph.  Not unlike our chickadees, the sharp contrast between white and dark on these birds presents challenges in exposure.  For me, they are nearly impossible to get right in bright light ... but give me a gloomy, overcast day and I can make it work.  I actually got two images I like today of nuthatches but chose this one because you can see the beautiful patterns of his back, as well as the feather detail on his face.  Also, if you look closely, you can just make out his rusty "underpants".  

More of the same in the news today.  Covid cases spiraling out of control, hospitals all over our country getting close to capacity, shortage of medical staff, and an outgoing president who refuses to concede a race he's lost.  At least more and more state governments are trying to enact measures to slow the spread, although I fear it's a bit like closing the door after the cattle have headed to the hills.  

My bestie, Peg, was due to fly to Arizona with her husband today where they usually spend the winter.  However, given the spike in cases and hospital capacities there, they decided yesterday to indefinitely postpone their trip.  They, like us, are in a very rural area (them in NY, me in NJ) where cases remain fairly low and it's possible to go about your life without really coming into contact with people.  Still, I know they both miss their home in Arizona.  She and I had a nice, long gab on the phone this morning, which was good for both of us.  

Yesterday, I had a great phone visit with my parents who were in very good spirits, even as Oregon is preparing to lock down again. Then, in the afternoon, I had a long call with fellow blipper and good friend, Naturelover.  She and I hadn't talked in a while so it was really good to get caught up.  

I miss not being able to see my friends and family, but being able to facetime, messenger and phone is such a life-saver.

Take good care of yourselves.  Don't take any unnecessary risks, and be especially kind to others.  Everyone is fragile right now.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.