Insignia

I was very reluctant to get out of my bed this morning as I really didn’t want to sit in my kitchen at my laptop.  Even though I was late, I was determined to go for a pre-work walk.  I eventually got down to work and a few back to back calls.  It’s not a great way to start the week.
TT needed to go to the Post Office and Boots at lunchtime so I accompanied him down into town.  A shoplifter filled his bag while we were in Boots and ran off – which provided some excitement to our day.
We had the first of our roasting tin leftovers for tea tonight – and I am sure these things (like soup) improve and are better the next day.
This insignia is high up on a building in town, which is now occupied by part of the Council.  I think HCS stands for Haddington Co-operative Society.  Reading this reminded me of the Co-op in the town where I was brought up.  I can remember a co-op butchers, bakers, grocery and later a couple of supermarkets (though not what we would call a supermarket today), a shoe shop (where we got our school shoes), a paint and wallpaper shop (where I got to choose new wallpaper for my bedroom), a drapery (where I got my school uniform), a menswear shop (which also sold school ties and badges), an electrical and furniture shop (which is where I think my granny rented her TV from), and there might have been more.  The Co-op was a real mainstay of the High Street.  My dad still remembers his mother’s “divi number”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.