Almost....

I didn't quite make it to the finish line but almost! Another hour in the morning should these complete and a start made on the ballet skirts, I hope! It's such fiddly work that it seems quicker to make an adult version! I finished the day with aching hands and a sore neck from tensing over the sewing machine but I am happy with the results so it was worth it. I almost completed another bolero this evening being aware that time is marching towards my deadline (self set). 
I spent some time in the morning preparing dinner, a (new to me) nut loaf recipe, so that I could have uninterrupted sewing time later. I'm so pleased I did as it was great just to be able to pop it in the oven and enjoy an hour later, minimal effort and it tasted good too extra photo. I'm trying out new recipes this week as otherwise we seem to eat a constant repeat!
I had a lovely FaceTime call from my son and granddaughter during the afternoon. She is quarantining as someone in her class at school tested positive. They have set work to do in the morning and then a zoom call in the afternoon for the class where the teacher reads a story. She only started school this academic year and is very keen. The home school lesson was phonics.She showed me sentences that she had made with homemade flash cards and was able to read them to me. She was so proud and very good at it, sounding out the words she didn't instantly recognise. Such a difficult time for school children at the moment, and teachers too. Her brother 8, has only just gone back to school after 2 weeks for the same reason. 
Reg and I nipped out for a short walk between rain bursts and managed to stay reasonably dry, but there was a really cold wind. Tomorrow is forecast to be sunny and several degrees lower, hopefully a much brighter and more cheerful day. I may be able to get some washing on the line!
I missed my usual teatime call to mum, engrossed in my sewing, but made it a bit later in the evening after dinner. We chatted for about twenty minutes, she had managed to fill her day and seemed upbeat all things considered. She's going to try and get to the cash point on her mobility scooter tomorrow. She feels a bit nervous going out on it as she has got out of the habit through the lockdown. She worries about breaking down, even though she knows there are several people on the end of the phone who will rush to her aid if needs be. I'll get the verdict tomorrow.
A successful day I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.