Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A busy day

Last night as soon as Gavin came downstairs after finishing work he got on the phone to British Airways, and 75 minutes later he had managed to book our flights to South Africa for next August. We should have been able to use the vouchers from our cancelled trip this year to cover the cost, but outrageously BA have hiked up their prices by about 33% for the same flights. They make it very difficult to book replacement flights from those cancelled during this pandemic, as they issued vouchers that cannot be used online but had to be booked by phone. We use this airline as from London they fly to significantly more places than any other airline, but I do find them frustrating to deal with. By comparison, my cancelled flights with Easyjet were refunded within a week. 

This morning Luke came with me for a walk in the woods with Xena, it was a fast walk as I had to get to the dentist for a checkup soon afterwards. It was a long appointment as I also had an appointment with the hygienist and she is very thorough so it takes a while.

I did some more work on my website today, I washed and ironed bedding, and I did a bit more online Christmas shopping so it has been a productive day. 

Today my niece, her husband and their nearly two year old daughter arrived in the UK, which is to be their new home, from South Africa. It is not easy moving countries during a lockdown, they have to quarantine for two weeks, and it is winter here with cold, short days which they are not used to. But these are tough choices one makes, and as two highly skilled and competent people they are able to offer much in return for a new home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.