Take off

I had a distinctly unsuccessful morning. I failed (for the second time in a week) to get up for a 7.15am fitness class. I managed to log on for my meeting at 9am (11am Finnish time), but that meeting overrunning and then me getting confused between EET, CET and GMT meant I missed the presentation I wanted to listen to at lunchtime out of Florence...(thinking it was at 12, when it was at 11). As a result, I was inordinately pissed off with myself. It also compounded the fact that I was really irritated with myself yesterday for chipping Mr A's favourite mug by being clumsy. It felt like *everything* was going wrong.

So after lunch, I took myself out for a very brisk walk up to the weir and back, which did cheer me up. It was a bright, cold and quite crisp day, and it was good to be out.

As a result, my afternoon, in front of the computer, was much more successful, and then over dinner we watched Michael Dougan giving a lecture from his home in Liverpool for an audience based in Edinburgh and around the world. It was on the Internal Market Bill. Very interesting too. Confirmed everything I had thought about it. Basically, the IMB is trolling both devolution and EU integration.

In terms of photography, I peaked early. Now, *this* is what we bought that bird for.

Edit: as I was completing my blip, news came in that Shuggie Bain, our last book group book, has won the Booker Prize. Only the second Scottish winner, I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.