Capital adventures

By marchmont

Happy birthday to Y!

I dragged myself out of bed to go swimming.  It gets harder and harder as the  mornings get darker and I chickened out and drove. But it was worth it.  Fridays are always quiet for some reason.  There is no lane swimming tomorrow morning though and there was no-one around to ask why.

My plan had to been to go to Straiton before it is illegal but an email about a chairing issue took much longer than planned so I ended up going straight to MStG to re-record the Edwin Muir poem for the Advent Calendar.  Popped in at the Manor on the way there for a signature.  No going out today for mum - too cold and wet.

Came home via Sainsbury's to get fizz and a cake so I could virtually celebrate Y's 'biggish' birthday which was yesterday. Of course I bought more than just that.

As well as a another discussion about plans for the front and a last long phone call to J, who goes back to France tomorrow, quite a bit of the afternoon was spent on the pressing issue which shouldn't have been an issue at all.  It was well after 4 before it was finally concluded which didn't leave much time before the start of the Zoomers' Wine o'Clock.

Unfortunately the birthday girl couldn't join us on account of waiting for the GP to call re suspected shingles.  Turns out she has it in her eye.  However, that didn't stop the rest of us.  I didn't win the quiz (phew) and 5 of us carried on chatting for a while at the end.  C and L are moving to Canada, sometime next year  It will be a big change, for all of us. 

Ended the evening with Landward, HIGNFY and 'The Last Leg'.  I ate too much cake!

F2F - 8
Phone calls - 6
Virtual - 1

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.