Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Heavy skies

Gavin and I had a long walk with Xena this morning in our local woods. It was dull and grey with no decent bright moments, but for a while there was a touch of blue in the sky when I took this photo. The woods were so busy - car parks overflowing and people parking dangerously on the side of the roads. I cannot wait for lockdown to be over and the woods hopefully get a bit quieter as people go back to shopping or whatever else they used to do on a weekend.

On our walk I had to do a bit of a photo location recce, as tomorrow morning I am taking photos of a young friend and her two toddlers. When I was asked to take photos I planned to take them in the woods with all the autumn colours, but of course now the colours have almost gone, it is muddy everywhere, the light is very poor and I don't hold out much hope for any decent photos. We cannot do them inside with my lighting (due to lockdown rules) so I will see what we can get. I just hope it does not rain and the toddlers don't trip and fall in the mud before I have managed to get some photos of them!

I was a bit of a domestic goddess after our walk and made a batch of butternut soup and a banana loaf. And talking about being a domestic goddess, I am really not enjoying Nigella's new program (based on her new recipe book) as I find her new dishes totally unappetising. We have moved on from slathering butter on something, or overcomplicating the combination of ingredients - the recipes seem over indulgent to me.

We have a zoom call and drinks with some friends this evening, life really is not the same anymore.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.