Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Sweet Thames

Sweet Thames, run softly till I end my song,
Sweet Thames, run softly, for I speak not loud or long,
But at my back in a cold blast I hear
The rattle of bones, and chuckle spread from ear to ear.

Yes, you're right, TS Eliot, The Wasteland

So today I got to Waterloo in good time and had a walk down the South Bank as I tend to on these occasions.  As I passed the Oxo Tower the sun peeped out for a minute or two, making the river look wonderful (3rd Extra).  And despite what I said yesterday, all the way there were plenty of people around, most using their exercise quota: walkers, cyclists and hundreds of runners!  This young guy was having an intellectual-sounding conversation with his girlfriend and, when I climbed up onto Westmnster Bridge on the way back I realised that neither the homeless nor the buskers were locked down (1st and 2nd Extras).

Thanks for your good wishes yesterday, the Eye Dept at Tommy's was it's usual fantastically efficient and kind self - and the trains, which I was slightly dreading were totally empty.  Both going and coming home I had a carriage to myself ;))

So that's me, exhausted but pleased to be home.  Hope your Saturday's also been a good one  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.