Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

After it has been hacked!!

It was very frosty this morning, so I had to wait until it thawed a little before I could work in the garden. Both Wisterias and some other shrubs at the front of the house needed cutting back and that was my intended job until lunchtime. I took a lot of photographs of all the things that I needed to do over the coming days just to tidy up the garden a little.
 
Today’s picture is of the white Wisteria after I had hacked it back; the extra is what it looked like before I started; you cannot see the lamppost! I have hacked it back many times over the years and so far it has survived and produced lots of flowers. I have the other side of the gate and wall to do once I get some new loppers. I have been told, by a gardening “expert” that they must be pruned correctly otherwise you will not get any flowers!
 
This afternoon I plan to order a new pair of loppers. My husband has several pairs, but is reluctant to let me use the “good” ones, so I shall buy my own. I also need a small saw as I have a little fir tree that has died and which needs to be removed as well as a lavender that is past its best and is just in the way.

 The temperature today was eight degrees Celsius at GMT noon.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.