THE INTENTION WAS THERE!

I was intending to take part in the Mono Monday challenge, the subject for which is “Water” but then my Waitrose order was delivered.  To explain, when these two lovely fellas arrived, Krys, on the left, told me that it was Ali’s first day today and he was training him, I said that deserved a photograph, so Krys turned to Ali and said, “This lady takes a photograph of us and then writes something and puts it online.”  When Ali questioned what I wrote, Krys remarked, “Oh, don’t worry, it’s always something nice!”  Even though you can't see their faces, I believe they were both smiling, so how could I not use them both after that?

It was great to have Krys and Ali delivering my shopping and I know they were only doing their job, but a good sense of humour and pleasant conversation goes a long way in these difficult times.  In the spirit of Mono Monday though, I have made the shot mono and just picked out the Hi-Viz jackets the two fellas were wearing.

It was a very good partnership - Krys got the various bags out of the van while Ali ran back and forth with them and deposited them outside our door.  The whole thing was done in no time, so I told Krys that the way they were going, they would be finished by 10 o’clock!

Shopping put away, Mr. HCB and I then sat down for a coffee before he went off pottering in the garden.  It was a beautiful morning, so I went out there too and had a guided tour of Mr. HCB’s raised beds, where leeks, broad beans and onion sets are all growing well.  We finished in the greenhouse, where he has well over 80 plants all needing his TLC - and many of them taken as cuttings.  He was especially enthusiastic about the clematis cuttings - what’s good enough for Monty Don is good enough for Mr. HCB and it will save us a lot of money next year.

Things that brought me joy today:

Seeing the sun and knowing it was going to be a fine and dry day
Having the shopping delivered by two amiable and pleasant men
Knowing Mr. HCB is content to potter in the garden and is never bored.

“Joy does not simply happen to us.
     We have to choose joy
          and keep choosing it every day.”
Henri J.M. Nouwen

P.S.  Many thanks for your kind comments for yesterday’s “Bottoms Up” Blip, all of which are much appreciated.  Again, I have dictated this because my fingers are still very sore - that Arthur Itis has a lot to answer for, as many of you well know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.