Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

La Folie Voltaire

The little building, La Folie Voltaire, in the main part of the collage is a small café in a deliciously shady part of the park.  My grandson and I used to go at least once  year  when he came to stay in the summer! This is where I met my daughter for a crepe a few weeks' ago.

If you look at this link, you can see how lovely it is in the warmer months:
https://www.lausanne-tourisme.ch/en/explore/la-folie-voltaire/

A lovely walk this afternoon in the park and perfect crisp air! I can't believe that I still found some golden leaves that hadn't yet fallen on the ground. I wanted to show you the fountain which I like very much. The red berries in the background are on some holly bushes.

Voltaire was a famous French Philosopher, historian and writer who lived in the 18th century.  For a while, he lived in Switzland and there is a town named after him: Ferney Voltaire, as well as a street and this little café in the the Lausanne Park.
If you would like to read more about Voltaire, look here:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Voltaire

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.