Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Lockdown 2.19 - Another Lockdown Picnic!

OK - please don’t misunderstand me - there’s nothing good about this pandemic. But I have to say that I’ve been enjoying some of the outings I’ve had with friends outdoors - since we can ONLY meet outdoors. I hope I’ll look back at THIS aspect with fond memories!

Today I had ANOTHER picnic. This time with my friend Jo, with whom I’ve had two picnic walks already during this second lockdown. This time we went to ‘my’ lake. She’d never been here before.

We stopped in my favourite place for a picnic and had soup (which she made) and our own sandwiches. We then walked around the lake (still very muddy in places) and stopped at my second favourite place and had coffee and cake, which I brought (not homemade). The swans came to say hello while we were walking - first one, and then the whole family. Every time we sat down the sun came out. It was glorious. I usually walk here alone so it’s nice to share it with another one of my friends!

When Jo went home I just couldn’t bear to go indoors so I’m afraid I ignored my to-do list and I set up my chair and ‘patio heater’ outside, with a cup of tea and a book to read. I was cosy under a blanket and stayed out there for 90 minutes, watching the sun go down. What a great day it’s been!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.